Check in participants via the back office
As an alternative to the check-in app, you can also check your attendees in and out on site or after the event via your event's back office.
In this article:
Preparation
Please note:
To use the check in in the back office, the user must have the role "Administrator", "Supporter", "Event Manager", or "Check-in".
Users with the "Check-in" role can only see the check in module in the event back office and cannot make any changes to the event.
If the "Check in" menu item is not yet displayed in your navigation, please activate it in your modules as described here.
Please note:
Activating modules is reserved for the roles "Administrator", "Supporter", and "Event Manager". Users with the "Check in" role must therefore contact a user with these permissions if the "Check in" menu item has not yet been activated.
Check-in overview
When you open the check in module via your navigation, you will first see the search and filter function as well as your contact list on the left side.

On the right side, you also have the option to enable the "Quick Check-in" via the toggle and see the activity overview of all attendees (i.e., the check ins and check-outs performed up to this point).
Please note:
When you open the check in for the first time, refresh your browser window, or log out of the tool, the activities will no longer be displayed here in the general overview.
In the contact list, the contact information fields "First name", "Last name", "Email", and "Token" are listed in separate columns by default. These are complemented by the "Check in status" and "Groups" columns. If you would like to display additional fields, such as the registration status, click the edit pen icon on the right and select the respective checkbox(es) in the overview that opens.
Check-in process
Search and filter function
To find a contact, click into the search field, for example, to search by name or token.
Alternatively, you also have the option to click on "Show filters" and display, for instance, all attendees of a specific group or with a specific registration or check in status.

You can remove these filters at any time or make the window smaller again by clicking on "Hide filters". The filters remain active and will still be displayed to you as corresponding tags.

Perform check-in
Once you have found your desired contact and want to check them in, click on them. The corresponding contact view of the attendee will now appear on the right side:

The following information is displayed in this view:
- Name (of the attendee)
- "Check in" button (or "Check-out", if the contact has already been checked in)
- Check in status: if no check in or check-out has taken place yet, the status "Not available" is displayed here. After clicking the "Check in" or "Check-out" button, the status is updated analogously to
or
. - Token
- Email (of the attendee)
- Groups
- Furthermore, below this information, the attendee's "Latest activities" are listed. This should not be confused with the overall activity overview of all attendees.
If you now want to check in a contact, click the "Check in" button. The contact is now marked with the status "Checked in" in their personal contact mask as well as with "check-in" in the "Check in status" column of the main contact list.
Please note:
As soon as an attendee is checked in who did not previously have the status "Registered", their status will automatically be updated to "Registered" through the check-in.

At the same time, the check in is also recorded in both the attendee's personal activity overview and the activity list of all contacts.

If you want to check the attendee out again, click the "Check-out" button in the top right of the personal contact mask. The status changes analogously to "Checked-out" in both the attendee view and the "Check in status" column. This update is also reflected in the respective activities:

A contact can also be checked in or out multiple times. To do this, for example, click the "Check in" button again after a previous "Check-out".
If an attendee was not checked out, for instance, but needs to be checked in again, you can track the new check-in using the "Override check in" button.

The old log will not be deleted. Instead, a second check-in status will be listed in the attendee's personal activity list. This also applies analogously to a second check-out.

Please note:
You can also view the final check ins and check-outs of all attendees in your contact overview. In the contact export, you will find all individual logs detailed once again.
If you would like to use our badge printing directly from the evenito back office in addition to the check in, please proceed as described in this article or shown in this video.
Quick Check-in
![]()
By enabling "Quick Check-in", you can speed up the check-in process. Once you have activated the toggle and manually enter an attendee's token in the "Search" row or the token is captured by scanning the QR code, the attendee is checked in directly without having to click an additional button.
If the attendee is already checked in and the token/QR code is captured a second time, the attendee is checked out again directly.